Primary Menu

’JRZ Music News

NEW YORK, NY - SEPTEMBER 04: Actor William Shatner on the main stage during 'Star Trek: Mission New York' -day 3 at Javits Center on September 4, 2016 in New York City; NEW YORK, NY - MARCH 16: Iggy Pop performs onstage during the Tibet House US 30th Anniversary Benefit Concert & Gala to celebrate Philip Glass's 80th Birthday at Carnegie Hall on March 16, 2017 in New York City.

Yes…it’s not even Halloween yet, but William Shatner is releasing a Christmas album called Shatner Claus: The Christmas Album this Friday (October 26), and it contains a cover of “Silent Night” featuring Iggy Pop that is too strange to ignore.

The track is embedded below, and it’s both everything and nothing like you’d expect at the same time.  (Seriously, how does Shatner do it?!)

Pop isn’t the only guest on Shatner Claus; the album boasts a surprisingly stacked lineup of guests including Henry Rollins, Todd Rundgren, Artimus Pyle, Rick Wakeman, Ian Anderson, Billy Gibbons and more.

Those interested in the album can pick up a copy at Amazon.  Honestly, it could make for an amazing gift for a Yankee Swap/White Elephant exchange.

William Shatner "Silent Night" Feat. Iggy Pop by Cleopatra Records

A very special gift of the #holidays - the first ever #Christmas album from the godfather of dramatic musical interpretations and a legend of stage and screen, Mr. @william-shatner ! * Features an incredible cast of supporting players such as Henry Rollins @henry-rollins-official , Billy Gibbons @billy-gibbons-and-the-bfgs, Judy Collins @judy-collins-music, Brad Paisley @brad-paisley-official, Rick Wakeman @rick-wakeman-official, Iggy Pop @iggypopofficial, Todd Rundgren @toddrundgren, Joe Louis Walker @joe-louis-walker and more!

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock blogger that loves the smell of old vinyl in the morning.

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice.